top of page
Search

Winners of the SCWC Fall Poetry Challenge


"The Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things." (Galatians 5:22-23 NIV)


The Southern Christian Writers Conference recently issued a challenge to create a poem inspired by the Fruits of the Spirit. There were no instructions other than that; members were encouraged to use their creativity and then submit to the SCWC. The top three winners would be recognized by publication on the SCWC blog and the first place winner would get a Autumn-themed prize.


We received so many wonderful submissions, making it difficult to make the final selections.


But we're pleased to recognize these winners for the Fall Poetry Challenge:


1st place: Katie Martin

2nd place: Susan Hester

3rd place: Cindy Smith


Here are their winning poems:


"Nine Things"

by Katie Martin

Nine things—

She ticked them off on aged, arthritic fingers,

Is all you need to guide you through life,

She said.


Nine fruits,

She said,

You can’t eat them, but you can taste them

All of your days.

They will make your life sweet

And a pure aroma to the Lord.


Nine years old, nine years ago,

I didn’t fully grasp what she meant.

Looking at the verses in my hand, printed by

The funeral home, I now know.

I feel her voice in them,

Saying them one by one.

And oh, her life was full of them, abundant in

Love, joy, peace.

Patience, kindness, goodness.

Faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.

Abundant.


I tuck the card beneath my bed.

I keep the words close to my heart.

I count them one by one

Until I fall asleep.


"Untitled"

by Susan Hester


Clouds race across a broken sky

Bringing rain to soak my thirsty core

Restoring my heart’s rhythm with peace-filled sighs

Planting the Spirit’s fruits in my mind’s eyes

So that my garden lays barren no more


"Your fruit in me"

by Cindy Smith


In a world that is broken,

filled with dismay;

How can I change things?,

Show me the way;

Fleshly desires,

Often invade;

My heart that desires,

To persuade;

To point others,

To a better way;

To reflect your glory,

Every day;

May the hungry seek you,

May you reflect in me;

The fruit of your spirit,

For all to see;

May I love as you love,

May your joy shine through;

Spirit give me your peace,

In all that I do;

May long suffering be,

A way to reveal;

That in all things,

You are able to heal;

Let your kindness be evident,

Let your goodness prevail;

May my life reveal,

That your faithfulness,

Never, ever, fails;

Let your gentleness flow,

Through my life like a river;

Please impart self-control,

Let me be a giver;

Of hope that comes only,

From knowing you;

Be reflected daily,

In all I say and do;

Thank you for,

The privilege to be,

A living branch;

On your holy tree.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


We love to honor and recognize the writing of our members. Please continue to submit your creations to our contests and challenges!

110 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page