top of page
Search

Read our May writing challenge winners

Updated: Sep 19, 2022

The theme for May's challenge was "Change."

We challenged our Southern Christian Writers Conference members in May to write about the subject of "change." The submissions could tackle the topic in any way, from any direction and could be written in any genre (fiction, nonfiction, or poetry).


Congratulations to the following writers with their winning submissions:


1st place: Terri Miller (unavailable, due to publication elsewhere)

2nd place: Teresa Marita McGuire

3rd place: Patricia Taylor

Honorable mention: Bill Fortenberry


"Heirloom Hope"

by Terri Miller



"Change and Me"

by Teresa Marita McGuire


I do not have to close my eyes to visualize 317 bright-eyed graduates standing to face a big, unfamiliar world. I am part of the cast in that commencement story, so the scene is committed to memory. Equally, our voices blending to George Benson’s rendition of "Everything Must Change" produce musical images in my heart.


* “Everything must change,

Nothing stays the same.

Everyone must change,

Nothing stays the same.

The young become the old,

Mysteries do unfold.

'Cause that's the way of time.

Nothing and no one goes unchanged.”


Everything must change. It has been said that change is good. Change may even be challenging at times. While I have experienced both, I only felt amazing joy when I received a recent call that changed everything. To say I am still excited is an understatement because this change is truly an answer to prayer. After 23 years as a school counselor for college, high school and middle school students, plus teaching middle schoolers, I embrace change to serve as an elementary school counselor.


Nothing stays the same. Mostly, I served in schools where my creativity enhanced academic experiences for students, families, teachers, and community members. Yet, there were times when my wings were clipped. Sometimes, my services were not valued nor allowed to flourish. Occasionally, my talents and gifts were not appreciated. At times, one must move on to thrive.

So, I am grateful that change brings new blessings in an innovative place to nurture children through a renewed motivation to fulfill the heart work of an educator.


Everyone must change. The young become the old. I believe change is inevitable. Everything does change and that change includes me. Though several years have passed since my high school graduation, I am living the words my younger self sang with classmates.


Mysteries do unfold. ‘Cause that’s the way of time. Within my first five years as a teacher, an administrator assessed me as effective with children and adults. The conversation revealed her vision of me in an administrative position. At that moment, my limited scope of leadership could not see beyond the role of school principal. Though respectful, I was not interested. Eventually, my professional passion, skill set, determination, and heart to serve led me on a different path.


Nothing and no one goes unchanged. As for me, I strive to change in positive ways because my dreams are wrapped in purpose. This change restored a level of enthusiasm I felt at the beginning of my professional career. Through this change, I will help children learn, dream and accomplish goals at an elementary school steps away from the high school where I sang about change.


*Song by George Benson Songwriter: Benard Ighner

Everything Must Change lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group



"A Widow's Thoughts"

by Patricia Taylor


Change. How final this word is now in this time of my life. I never realized what it meant to be a widow until I became one. It changes everything. It means eating most meals alone, going places by yourself, and feeling like a third wheel in this coupled- up world! People seem to treat you as if you have something contagious or that you are damaged goods, although I’m sure they don’t mean it that way.


I miss laying my head on my husband’s chest and listening to his strong and steady heartbeat. I guess I thought it would never stop. But it did stop. I thank God I had him for fifty precious years, but it somehow doesn’t seem long enough. He was always the strong one and I find myself crying when I don’t plan to. My heart is broken and there is not really a solution that I can humanly see.


If I was worried about something, he was my confidant, and would always say, “I’ve got you, Babe.” What comfort! Our sons try to take up the slack and lift me up or help me. Their Dad taught them well. But I know these changes in our lives affect them also. I pray for them as they do me.


I am thankful I know the Lord and that He never changes. He says in His Word in Matthew 24:35: “Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away.” I will hang onto that and know that I can make it through this life despite these earthly changes. My heart is broken but my spirit is still intact! God is good!



"The Kisses of Love" (a song)

by Bill Fortenberry

Remember how you felt when we first embraced?

My knees began to shake, and my heartbeat raced.

Your face lit up with smiles nothing could erase.

We started something new blessed by God’s great grace.

Oh, what an ocean of wondrous bliss.

Oh, what a mountain of radiance this.

A lifelong adventure in happiness.

Oh, cling to the magic of love’s first kiss.

As we grew together and our lives entwined,

My life became yours, and yours became mine.

God filled our quiver with arrows fine.

They were bundles of joy… well, most of the time.

Oh, what an ocean of wondrous bliss.

Oh, what a mountain of radiance this.

A lifelong adventure in happiness.

The magic grows deeper with every kiss.

The grandkids are perfect in every way.

They’re brilliant and pretty and always obey.

And still every moment and every day,

My heartbeat skips when I look your way.

Oh, what an ocean of wondrous bliss.

Oh, what a mountain of radiance this.

A lifelong adventure in happiness.

The magic lasts longer with every kiss.

And now as sounds fade and the lights grow dim,

Your limbs have grown feeble, and you’ve a quivering chin.

But the magic of love still burns within,

It’s a joy divine that will never end.

Oh, what an ocean of wondrous bliss.

Oh, what a mountain of radiance this.

A lifelong adventure in happiness.

We’ll cling to the magic ‘til love’s last kiss.


~~~~~~

We post regular writing challenges on the Southern Christian Writers Conference Facebook page. (If you're not already involved there, we'd love for you to join our community. Visit it HERE.)


The SCWC is designed to encourage writers of all levels--those who are just starting out, as well as those who've already found publishing success. Our writing challenges allow us to do that.


We will be gathering in just a few weeks at our annual SCWC gathering; this year it will be held on June 3-4 at Valley View Baptist Church in Leeds, Alabama, just outside Birmingham. If you'd like to participate (either in person or virtually), email us at scwritersconference@gmail.com.


And in the meantime...keep writing!

159 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page