top of page
Search

How sweet it is...Our February writing challenge winners


For our February writing challenge, we asked Southern Christian Writers Conference members to write a poem or prayer about love. It could focus on any kind of love--friendship, romantic, paternal, divine, etc.--and we welcomed many submissions. (The challenge was posted in our SCWC Facebook group; if you're not a member, you should be! We have a great online community and we'd love for you to be part of it. Go to the link HERE.)


Our top selections for the challenge are the following:

1st place: Noel Turner

2nd place: Leisl Lemire

3rd place: Patricia Taylor


We received so many wonderful contributions, and narrowing them down to just three winning recipients was very difficult. So, if you contributed your poem or prayer to our challenge, THANK YOU and congratulations on your creations.


Enjoy our winners!


"God Of Light, Lord of Love"

(a prayer), by Noel Turner


Even before my beginning, you knew my heart. You knit me together with threads of joy and tears. You created me from love, for love, and gave me the great love of my heart, music. I pray that you keep me keenly aware of the gift and its Giver, the great orchestrator of my life and my art. Protect it from the harm of ego and hubris, that it may serve only You for as long as I may give it voice. May it be fitting to offer You praise and to inspire and comfort Your people. With each note that passes my lips, may my words be given wings to carry Your song back to You.

With joy and gratitude,

Amen


"Love is being rhyme"

by Leisl Lemire


Love is being rhyme

When there is no clear reason

Love is serving time

In each and every season

My convalescence

Through pain that might be chronic

A faithful presence

When it needs be platonic

Sleeping in a spoon

Especially when snoring

Protected cocoon

While praying and imploring

Seeking God’s guidance

When looking for direction

Peaceful reliance

Rejoice in His protection

Loving gifts employ

A soothing therapeutic

Unassuming joy

A faithful pharmaceutic


"Love Me Anyway"

by Patricia Taylor


Heavenly Father, I know I have much to rue.

I ask for your help to show me what to do.

Looking with troubled eyes, I only see my take;

but you look from the heart and never forsake.

You know me, down into the marrow of my bones;

and see the reasons for my hurts, cares, and moans.

Lord, I pray for understanding that only You can give.

I ask that you look into my heart and please forgive.

I’m trying Father, but fail to sometimes your will obey.

I’m just a frail human, but glad You Love Me Anyway.


~~~~~~

We'll continue to have challenges for our Southern Christian Writers Conference friends, and encourage you to contribute your work.


Have a wonderful February and a lovely Valentine's Day, and may we always remember that God loved us so that we can love others.


~~~~~~


The 2022 Southern Christian Writers Conference is coming! The annual conference will take place on June 3-4 in Birmingham, Alabama. It features two keynote speakers, 18 workshops, meetings with agents and publishers, a book room, meals, fellowship, and much more. Email us at scwritersconference@gmail.com for more information. Registration opens April 1.



65 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page